If You’ve Been Charged With A DUI, I Can Help
My first advice is to not drink and drive. The same applies to the use of narcotics. If you are pulled over, it may or may not be to your advantage to take a breath test. If possible, you should consult with an attorney before you agree to take a test.
In Mississippi, if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 or more, you are considered to be driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). You can also be arrested for driving under the influence of drugs. A drunk driving conviction will result in significant fines and suspension of your driver’s license, and you could be sentenced to jail time. A DUI conviction stays on your driving record forever. If you are arrested again at a later date, you face even greater penalties.
Failure to take a test results in the loss of your license unless a court finds there was no basis to require you to take it.
Drunk Driving Charges Need To Be Taken Seriously
Take every drunk driving charge seriously. You have a limited amount of time to save your driver’s license and your driving record. Call an experienced Mississippi DUI/DWI defense attorney immediately.
I am criminal defense lawyer Gene Barton. From my Chickasaw County law office, I have been defending people against drunk driving charges for more than 40 years. When you need a strong legal defense, call my office at 662-260-6646 or contact me online for a free initial consultation. Please note that I cannot defend criminal cases in the city where I am a prosecutor, which is Okolona. I can defend cases in greater Chickasaw County and surrounding counties throughout Mississippi, as well as in federal court.
I Handle All DUI-Related Issues
To learn more about my practice and DUI-related issues, see:
- Breathalyzer tests, also known as intoxilyzers
- DUI refusals, when you don’t want to take a breath test
- Commercial licenses and the effect a DUI will have on yours
- Drug use and the potential outcomes it can have
An Attorney With Understanding And Compassion
I don’t judge my clients charged with DUI, though I warn people not to drink and drive. People from all walks of life have been charged with drunk driving. Even some of the most upstanding community members can make mistakes.
The important thing is to get the best outcome possible for you. I fight like a bulldog for my clients, because I believe you deserve a fair trial and fierce representation regardless of the criminal charges you are facing. I try to prevent you from losing your license and receiving increased insurance premiums, and we want to save your good reputation. I have had a great deal of experience working with alcoholics and drug addicts. If you have a problem with alcohol or drugs, I encourage you to consider an alcohol or drug treatment program.
Consequences Of A Drunk Driving Conviction In Mississippi
When you are charged with DUI in Mississippi, the severity of the sentence depends on how many times you have been convicted of the crime:
First-offense DUI/DWI: Two days in jail, up to $1,000 in fines and license suspension of up to one year
Second-offense DUI: A minimum of $600 and a maximum of $1,500 in fines, five days to a year in jail, and license suspension of up to two years
Third-offense DUI/DWI (a felony DUI): Up to $5,000 in fines, a mandatory one-year prison sentence (with a maximum sentence of five years), and a two-year license suspension
If you are a minor or have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), the maximum blood alcohol level is lower and the consequences more severe.
Contact A Mississippi Lawyer If You Have Faced A DUI Arrest
Note: I cannot defend criminal cases in the city where I am a prosecutor, which is Okolona. I can defend cases in greater Chickasaw County and surrounding counties throughout Mississippi, as well as in federal court.